Skip repeated menu and go directly to contents

San Diego State University

Fowler College of
Business Administration

Seven Facts about the Charles W. Lamden School of Accountancy

Department of Accountancy Faculty
  • The school is named after Dr. Charles W. Lamden, who was the driving force in the founding of SDSU's College of Business Administration in 1955 and served as the college's first dean from 1955 to 1965.
  • The school was the first accounting program in California and one of the first in the U.S. to gain accreditation from the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) in 1982.
  • The Charles W. Lamden School of Accountancy has one of the top 10 pass rates among large universities in California for first-time takers of the CPA exam.
  • SDSU accounting alumni have gone on to either found or serve in C-level positions in Volcom, Qualcomm, SAIC, Sempra Energy, San Diego Zoo, Deloitte, WD-40, Taylor Guitars, San Diego Gas & Electric and Karl Strauss Brewery.
  • In the past three years, the school's faculty have been honored with national, state and local awards including Beta Alpha Psi's National Outstanding Faculty Advisor award, CalCPA's Outstanding Accounting Educator award, and the Outstanding Faculty Contributor Monty award from SDSU.
  • The Beta Alpha Psi accounting student honor society at SDSU has maintained superior status in the U.S. for 24 consecutive years and has won numerous national awards.
  • In 2014, SDSU’s undergraduate accounting program ranked 24 by Accounting Degree Review as being one of the most reasonably priced undergraduate programs in the U.S.
AACSB accredited

The Charles W. Lamden School of Accountancy is fully accredited by AACSB International – The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. In 1982, The School was the first accredited accounting program in the state of California.