Skip repeated menu and go directly to contents

San Diego State University

Fowler College of
Business Administration

SDSU Business Students Earn TWO First Place Finishes In Business Competition

San Diego State students earned first place finishes in both the undergraduate and graduate divisions of the APICS’ West Coast 10th Annual Student Case Competition held February 19 - 20, 2016 in Burbank, California.

It is only the second time in the competition’s history that the winners of both the undergraduate and graduate division hail from the same university.

The teams are judged on the return-on-investment performance and on their presentation to a panel of judges.

APICS, the premier professional organization for supply chains management and operations management professionals, stages the annual competition that pits university student teams from across the Western United States and internationally against each other for a chance to compete at the national event, held September 25 - 27 in Washington D.C. This year, 12 undergraduate student teams and 10 graduate student teams from 15 universities competed for top honors.

Students are tasked with running virtual organization – in this case a fictitious European orange juice manufacturer called The Fresh Connection - and must make business decisions based on the results of using sophisticated simulation software in multiple runs. Each run presents the team with a set of sales, purchasing, supply chain and operations challenges and they must provide resolutions based on the simulated results. The teams are judged on the return-on-investment performance and on their presentation to a panel of judges.

As determined by the competition’s judges, the SDSU’s team of graduate students won the right to compete at the national competition. The team members were coached by management information systems professors Dr. Helio Yang and Dr. Fred Raafat and lecturer, Christine Probett. These are the same three faculty members who coached an SDSU team undergraduate team that took first in 2014 and a graduate team that took second place in 2011 and 2012.

students and advisor display their awards

Team Photo with majors (from left to right): Vincent Yip (MBA), Pallavi Shreedhar (MBA), Julee Jenkins (MBA), Ritu Chandiramani (MSIS), Julie Huang (management information), Eric Ramos-Castillo (accounting), Remington Burke (management), Anthony Amador (finance), and Conner Howe(finance). MIS professor, Fred Raafat sits in front.